Do you have a Life Constitution? Find Out Why You Need One.

jim_rohn_life_7625

You are familiar with the reverence and awe that surrounds it. The Nigerian constitution! The American constitution! You know it’s that document that contains the laws and principles that guides the political, social and economic life of a nation. Now back to you, have you thought that you ought to have your life’s constitution too?

One of the profound ideas that have shaped my life is the idea of a Personal Mission Statement or what I call Life Constitution. I prefer to also call it a Honour Code.

I discovered it in Stephen Covey’s landmark book – 7habits of Highly Effective people. I have written mine and I have continued to revise it over the course of 3 years since I discovered the wisdom behind it. It helps to put my life in perspective.

A Personal Mission Statement (PMS) according to Covey is a statement of who you want to be (character) and to do (contributions and achievements) and the values and principles upon which being and doing are based.

I agree this requires some deep thought and trust me a great life can never come out of shallow and provincial thinking.

Come to think of it, why should you not take the time to clarify what you are living for and write one? “Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value” says Albert Einstein and one of the best places to start is to clarify what you are living for in a personal mission statement.

I want to bring your attention to the word ‘personal’, ‘mission’, ‘values’ and principles.

Your PMS must be personal because you are one of a kind. It is personal because it should reflect your life’s assignment and that is unique to you. Even science has affirmed your uniqueness by the fact that no one has your DNA code and finger print.

“You are an original, don’t die a copy” says John Mason. Don’t be afraid of your uniqueness. LIVE IT.

I will share more thoughts in my next post.

Layi Adeyemi
Peak Performance Coach

Leave a Reply

