A Sunday Refreshing In Nairobi

image

Emmy Kosgei during ministration

image

The Nairobi Pentecostal Church (or Christ is The Answer Ministries)

image

My guy

image

With Fatima and my Masai friend

I slept longer today than I did in my past days in Nairobi. Maybe it’s because the anxiety and stress of the Agribiz4Africa competition is almost over. Glad to be part of the three finalist from the Business Idea category going to Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Honestly, it was easy to forget today was Sunday because of the morning sun. Nairobi has been a bit cold. I wake up with blocked nose every day.

I needed to catch up with breakfast and was happy to join my new Kenyan friends and finalists, Peter and Larry. We had a good conversation around the competition’s experience, our personal lives and all.

By the time I checked my watch, it was 10:30 am. Where was my good intentions to go to church?

I was struggling with rationalization and the coziness of the room made the argument worse.

The only way to win was to just wash my face, put on my clothes and get going without taking my bath. Thank God for deodorants! Thank God, the Nairobi Pentecostal Church was just down the road.

I soon moved myself hesitantly out of the hotel to begin the short walk down to the church at Valley road.

I got to the church just as the sermon was about to end. Had to sit outside as the auditorium was already full. But the distractions outside paled in comparison to the strong words of the preacher. It gripped my heart.

I couldn’t help my sense of need and was a bit uneasy to be hearing a sermon like this in Kenya. I didn’t come here to repent.

The sermon ended and people soon moved out. There was no ceremony after a sermon as I was used to in my Nigerian churches.

I asked and I was informed there was a second service to start by 11:30 am. I wanted to hear those words again, to be broken, and to be convicted.

I joined the second service and was treated to a great atmosphere of worship, beautiful and comparable to what you would get in my country. It wasn’t about the sonorous voice of the choir but of the relevance of the songs they sang.

A popular gospel celebrity in Kenya, Emmy Kosgei, married to one of our Nigerian ministers, Apostle Madubuko led us in a beautiful ministration of songs and dancing.

It’s a bit amazing. Two of our popular ministers have married Kenyan women. I can’t trust myself if I stay too long in this country (smiles).

After a lot of proceeding and welcoming of first timers, the sermon started again. The preacher was Rev. Calisto Odide and the sermon, ‘Can a nation be saved?’ was on Revival. Strange that I’m coming to hear a sermon on revival in Nairobi of all places. Haven’t heard such messages in Nigeria in a long while.

He mentioned some important point I would like to share

1. Revival is not a meeting or an organization. You know like we are having a revival meeting that I hear, where the sermons is a decoy for people to present their material needs to God. Or so and so revival ministries.

2. Revival is not a manifestation of signs and wonders. That miracles are happening doesn’t mean God is happy. Jesus was healing the sick yet he was appalled by their lethargic spiritual condition.

3. Revival often comes when people are at their lowest ebb. I don’t think I want God to bring me to this point to point out my need for revival.

4. Revival starts with an individual desiring the restoration of heaven first in his own soul. His gnawing need for repentance and a shameful lack of zeal in his heart is the initiating force that brings him to his knees.

5. Revival brings about the restoration of true worship. It goes beyond singing to the presentation of humble and contrite hearts

6. Revival brings about the restoration of true ministers. If the clergy lacks fire, revival will tarry.

7. Revival brings a burden for prayer, not for personal needs, but for the saving of souls and holiness.

8. Revival breaks out when God’s word is restored, given a central place, believed and acted upon.

9. God can use a crisis to bring about revival. Some people experience revival as a result of life’s challenges that simply won’t budge.

I realized I didn’t want a crisis to see my need for revival. I also see that my heart needed more zeal and I needed God to begin a new work of love within me.

My conclusion: I NEED REVIVAL IN MY LIFE

I often wonder why God stirs up this thirst especially when I realize my spiritual helplessness to become what I need to be. It’s taunting. It’s like chasing something elusive.

But I’m encouraged by the words of a famous author, “whatever desire God has placed in your heart, he will fulfil it.” Though I do not know how to revive my soul, I believe that he who began a good work in me will bring it to completion through his spirit.

I’m also hoping to see what I can find in Henry Blackaby’s Experiencing God. I bought it after church and I’m hoping the book will whet my appetite for the divine. I have read that good books do that.

As soon as I got to the hotel, Simon, our Agribiz4africa project manager was waiting at the hotel lobby to take me and Fatima, a finalist from Nigeria to see Nairobi.

I hurried quickly to the shower for a refreshing bath, hurled into my clothes and made a mad dash for the lobby.

It appears Kenyan like people keeping to time or maybe its just simon. The church too didn’t waste time. Just thinking.

I was driven around town and shown many interesting places including a popular slum, the biggest in Africa called Kibera. Nairobi is a beautiful city. I will be back.

We wounded up at a mall called Village Market. What a paradox. It was a beautiful mall and a bubbling one for that matter.

There I met a great guy, a hippy Masai. Fatima and I couldn’t resist having a conversation with him and we took pictures. He was a really busy guy as you could still see he was still clinging to his laptop (Laugh).

Glad to be back in my room and I felt this was an experience I should share.

What is your conclusion about revival? Don’t ignore if the divine is tugging at your heart.

4 responses to “A Sunday Refreshing In Nairobi

  1. Don’t you dare marry a Kenyan o!lol. And this one ya calling Fatima’s name weh weh* looking at you one kain* Told ya Layi! You haven’t seen your best days yet. Hang in there Dearie!

  2. You’ve done well, you’re doing well and you won’t stop. I’m encouraged. Great write-up too. And I’m not sure I can do without REVIVAL either. Coming…

  3. Your zeal for getting things done is incredibly great.Yr doing well in yr writing career and am happy for u.The Sky is yr beginning…

Leave a Reply

